Chasing Butterflies


This post is really really past due since the photos I took for it have been edited and sitting on my laptop for forever now haha. Sometimes you just get super busy and there isn’t time to make a proper post. That being said, now that I have had a few moments to myself I can actually sit down and write what I would like to.

About a week ago I noticed this bush at the bus loop on FGCU’s campus. It has these green stem looking things with blueish purple flowers all over, up and down the stems. I think it looks really cool so after class I went back to my dorm, grabbed my camera, and then headed back to campus so I could get a couple shots.

A01009

A01010

I have no clue what kind of plant this is so if you do feel free to comment and let me know haha!

A01011

A01012

After only about 2 minutes of shooting the plant I realized that the bush was a hangout spot for at least 20 or so giant furry bumblebees that were the size of peanuts! I was worried at first but they didn’t seem to mind me being all up in their business trying to get some photos. I tried to get some shots of the bees, but they weren’t really cooperating with me.

After getting over the fear of being stung by the camera shy bees, I spotted a butterfly floating around the bush as well. The butterfly was cooperating with me more than the bees were so I was able to get a few shots, but man did I have to work for it. The butterfly kept going around the bush in circles only stopping for fractions of a second on the green stems every once in a while. This was giving me an extremely small window of opportunity to get a good shot of the butterfly. Also my auto focus was giving me issues because it had to many things it was trying to focus on since the butterfly wouldn’t hold still. As I was running around this bush chasing the butterfly I was manually focusing and refocusing because the butterfly would move out of focus. I have a great collection of blurry butterfly pictures now but it was worth it to get the few shots that I did.

A01013

A01014

I only shot photos of the bush and the butterfly for about 45 minutes but I was exhausted and I probably needed a shower. It was 97 degrees out and I was chasing a butterfly around a bush, you would be hot and exhausted too haha.

A01015

Once again, just like the bush, I have no idea what kind of butterfly this is, so if you do, don’t be afraid to leave a comment and let me know.
Enjoy the photos!

Leave a Reply

